The Dilemma of TripAdvisor

Prompted by a Comment on Another Post:

"I don't care to belong to any club that will have me as a member"

So I’ve got this blog called TripAdvisorWatch and it’s full of stuff pointing out the faults on TripAdvisor and other review sites – but mainly TA, as it’s the only one that really counts.

So how come I’ve also got 500-odd posts on TripAdvisor traveller forums answering people’s questions – doesn’t that just help TA’s cause?

Well, here’s my answer.

Yes, it’s a dilemma. I’m aware that it’s the freely contributed content that is TA’s biggest asset. However, whatever the appearances, and making no apologies for it, I don’t have a problem with user generated content in principle and I’m quite happy to give free advice as long as I don’t think the person asking for it is just plain lazy.  You’d think some people had never heard of Google.

In particular I like to use TA to promote tourism in the inland areas of western France that tend to get ignored as the herd heads blindly for the D-Day Beaches and Mont St Michel in the case of Normandy, and Angers/Nantes in the case of Pays de la Loire.  This is the region where I live and that I’m most familiar with and that I love the most.

I do get mildly irritated when people say “Isn’t TripAdvisor wonderful” when they get an answer. TA isn’t wonderful – some of the contributions are good advice but others are just pants.

It also pisses me off when someone gives perfectly sound advice on TA but they are ignored because it isn’t what the person wanted to hear.  More fool them.

But what I really rail against are some of TripAdvisor’s sneaky and underhand practices, blasé attitude to genuine owner worries, refusal to accept blame and faults in their systems, their stubborn resistance to change, apparent belief that they are a law unto themselves and piss-poor communication.

That’s what this blog is about and also the subject of most of my posts on the TA owners forum. I’ll carry on the struggle from within and without – even if I’m just peeing into the wind!

Phil

4 responses to “The Dilemma of TripAdvisor

  1. Sneaky sneaky tripadvisor, when you do a search by default it only shows you the average reviews. It circumvents the whole point of tripadvisor. It is just as distorted as showing only excellentbor only terrible reviews by default, it is nonsence, ALWAYS MAKE SURE YOU CLICK “SHOW ALL” ALL REVIEWS OR IT IS NONSENSE
    This option is bollox it is like letting you colour your opinion of an establishment.
    I always show all in date order

  2. The only valid reason for a hotel owner to use the publically accessible areas of Tripadvisor, bearing in mind that Tripadvisor is a scammer, is to attempt to defend their hotel via a ‘management response’. And this is only because they are forced to.

    To add content to their site is simply to support them.

    I’m sure there are places in which it is possible to help travellers without having to harm the industry whilst doing so.

    Nothing is ever going to change until people stop using Tripadvisor.

    • As an Owner, I am still barred from even putting in a management response (or any other communication with TA via their system) and now both will not, and can not, put anything whatsoever onto TA.
      I have , however, put TA Watch on my links page, the logic being that most of the problems that owners face are hidden from the travelling public.
      Thanks Phil for creating a forum that starts to redress the balance, and I suggest all owners put a link to your site here, as TA clearly follows this site avidly!

  3. I could not put it better myself, and it really is worth highlighting again:
    ‘But what I really rail against are some of TripAdvisor’s sneaky and underhand practices, blasé attitude to genuine owner worries, refusal to accept blame and faults in their systems, their stubborn resistance to change, apparent belief that they are a law unto themselves and piss-poor communication’
    Absolutely on the button, and such a shabby attitude and approach from an organisation pretending to be the standard bearer of customer service in the tourist industry.
    They should hang their heads in shame and be humble enough to learn a few lessons from the businesses unfairly blighted by their dictatorial and unscrupulous methods and shoddy practices.

Leave a Reply

